Professor Aimy Bazylak

Prof. Aimy Bazylak is an Associate Professor in Mechanical & Industrial Engineering at the University of Toronto. She is the Tier II Canada Research Chair in Thermofluidics for Clean Energy and the Director of the University of Toronto Institute for Sustainable Energy (ISE). In 2008, she received the inaugural Bullitt Environmental Fellowship for leadership in the environmental field. She was awarded the I.W. Smith Award for Outstanding achievement in creative mechanical engineering within 10 years of graduation (2011) and the Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation Early Researcher Award (2012). In 2014 she became a Fellow of the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering, and in 2015 she was named a Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Rupak Banerjee


Rupak received his PhD in Microsystems Engineering from Rochester Institute of Technology in 2014, after which he joined the TEAM lab. His dissertation focused on understanding the presence and transport of liquid water in the reactant channels of PEM fuel cells, and the impact of this water on cell performance. Rupak is interested in the thermal effects on the transport processes and is currently working on investigating the thermal transport in the various component layers of PEM fuel cells.

Research Assistant

Michael G. George



Michael George graduated from the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Alberta with a B.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering in 2014 and was awarded the APEGA Past Presidents Medal. In 2016, Michael earned an M.A.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Toronto. He is currently a Research Assistant in the TEAM Lab, and his current research is focused on PEM fuel cell GDL degradation and transport in porous media for lung decellularization and recellularization.

Graduate Students

Faraz Arbabi

PhD Student

Faraz completed his M.Sc. from Sharif University of Technology in Tehran, Iran. During his masters, he developed a three dimensional, multicomponent CFD model to design PEM fuel cells to facilitate homogenous flow patterns for enhanced efficiency. Faraz joined the TEAM lab at the University of Toronto to investigate multiphase flows in PEM electrolyzers.

Nan Ge

PhD Student

Nan graduated with an undergraduate degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Toronto in 2013. He is currently working in the area of x-ray based imaging for studying multiphase flows and material characterization for PEM fuel cell materials.

Chung Lee

PhD Student

Chung received his BEng in Chemical Engineering from McGill University in Montreal, Canada. His undergraduate research focused primarily on determining the electrical percolation of polymer/nanoparticle composites for energy applications. Chung joined the TEAM laboratory to investigate multi-phase flow in PEM electrolyzers using microfluidic approaches.

Jason Lee

PhD Student


Jason received his B. Eng. from the University of Victoria in Mechanical Engineering. His undergraduate research was focused in multiscale manufacturing. In 2016, he obtained his M.A.Sc degree from the University of Victoria in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, where he specialized in the manufacturing of sensor fabrication using advanced materials and polymers. Jason joined the TEAM to research PEM electrolyzers.

Jongmin Lee

PhD Student

Jongmin Lee graduated from the University of Toronto with a B.A.Sc. in Engineering Science (Energy Systems Major). Jongmin joined the TEAM lab as an undergraduate summer research student, and continued with his 4th year thesis, during which he investigated the water accumulation and distribution in operating PEMFCs using synchrotron x-ray radiography. He is currently studying the impacts of GDL microstructure on water management using synchrotron-based visualizations.

Hang Liu

PhD Student

Hang_ProfileHang Liu graduated from Harbin Institute of Technology in Harbin, China with a B.Eng. in Thermal Energy and Power Engineering. After a short period as a mechanical engineer in industry, he graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with an M.A.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering. During his Masters research, he investigated oxygen transport resistance through Nafion thin films in PEMFCs. Hang joined the TEAM lab in the Dept. of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at the University of Toronto to investigate the water management issues in the porous media of PEMFCs.

Daniel Muirhead

MASc Student

Dan-MuirheadDan received his B.Eng. in Mechanical Engineering at McMaster University (Hamilton, Ontario) in 2015. As an undergraduate research assistant in McMaster’s Thermal Management Research Lab, he helped develop and fabricate the first experimental prototype of the Pizza Oven Waste Energy Recovery system, which uses wasted exhaust heat from commercial pizza ovens to fill the store’s hot water needs and generate electricity for store lighting. With the TEAM lab, Dan is exploring new research opportunities involving in-situ testing of PEM fuel cells.

Pranay Shrestha

MASc Student

Pranay-ShresthaPranay Shrestha graduated from the University of Victoria with a Bachelor of (Mechanical) Engineering (hon.) in May 2015. As an undergraduate co-up student he worked at the Mercedes-Benz Fuel Cell Division, where he furthered his interest in PEM fuel cells and clean energy.

Andrew Wong

MASc Student


Andrew graduated from the University of Alberta (Edmonton, Alberta) in 2016 with a BSc. in Mechanical Engineering (Biomedical Option) and convocated with the Henry Birks and Son’s Medal. During his undergraduate studies, his research projects included the self-assembly of block-copolymers, developing nanocrystalline silver wound dressings, modeling joint biomechanics and computational studies of human dentition. As a co-op student, Andrew held positions at consulting engineering companies in the oil and gas sector. With the TEAM lab, Andrew is using pore network modeling to investigate water transport in PEM fuel cells.

Undergraduate Students

Christina Salieb


Christina Salieb is completing her final year of Energy Systems Engineering (Engineering Science) at the University of Toronto. Due to her interest in automobiles, engines, and clean energy, she is exploring the use and advancement of fuel cells in the automotive industry and is particularly interested in the contrast between traditional engines, electric vehicles, and fuel-cell powered vehicles from an engineering standpoint as well as a social standpoint. As an undergraduate co-op student, she worked at Hydro One Networks where she developed experience in the technical and social aspects of the energy field, as well as practicing process design and optimization.

Postdoctoral Alumni

Ali Kalantarian (2012)

Hanif Montazeri (2014)

Jon S. Ellis (2014)

Ronnie Yip (2014)

Mostafa Sharqawy (2015) (Former Research Associate)

James Hinebaugh (2016)

Stéphane Chevalier (2016)

Graduate Alumni

Zachary Fishman, M.A.Sc. (2010)

Meaghan Miller, M.A.Sc. (2010)

Jingwen Wang, M.A.Sc. (2011)

Jessica Yablecki, M.A.Sc. (2012)

Dillon Fuerth, M.A.Sc. (2012)

Pradyumna Challa, M.A.Sc. (2012)

Katie Pelletier, M.Eng. (2013)

Marina Freire-Gormaly, M.A.Sc. (2013)

Steven Botelho, M.A.Sc. (2014)

Roshanak Banan, Ph.D. (2015)

James Hinebaugh, Ph.D. (2015)

Ali Ebrahimi, Ph.D. (2015)

Mohammadreza Fazeli, M.A.Sc. (2015)

Patrick Antonacci, M.A.Sc. (2015)

Nan Ge, M.A.Sc. (2015)

Michael G. George, M.A.Sc. (2016)

Nico Bevilacqua, M.A.Sc. (2017) University of Ulm

Undergraduate Alumni

Farid Akhoundov, 2nd Yr Engineering Science

Craig Mascarenhas, 4th Yr Mechanical Engineering.

Hilary Leung, B.Sc. (2011)

Andrew Rofaiel, B.Sc. (2011)

Jane Chui, B.Sc. (2010)

Christian Sauerbeck, M.Sc. (2010)

Taha Sutarwala, B.Sc. (2009)

Jackie Lunger (2014)